Can’t do this without my girls!

A writer friend once said we never write our stories alone. This is a very true statement. From critiques to beta readers, to plot discussions, we have lots of help along the way to get those first words typed onto the page. Yes, there are those few who snub the rest of us, possibly because of our genre choices or maybe we’re just startng out whereas they’ve been around for a while, but overall, writers are the most supportive group there is. This doesn’t just consist of those others we know personally. I’ve had tons of help through those I’ve only met cybrally, through Facebook, Twitter, and chat groups. In person or not, I value each and every one.
I’m fortunate to have my own group-my girls-who I couldn’t do without. We’ve been getting together on a regular basis for a while. We come from different places, have diverse backgrounds, and our careers are spread across the map but we still have that common bond. We got together for a mini writers retreat last weekend.

Here’s just a sample of how we work. Image

 

 

 

 

Image

First, get ready for the trip with a writer’s staple. Can’t go on a road trip without my triple punch mocha chi tea-with whipped cream, of course.

Image

Make sure there’s plenty of substance. And folks, this is just the tip of the food ice burg.

Image

My first helping and I’m ready!

Image

And at the end of the evening, a little stress relief!

Image

 

So a great big thank you to all of my helpers out there. I couldn’t do it without you.

 

Don’t forget to check out my latest release, Echoes in the Wind, published from the Wild Rose Press.

Geology instructor Darla Hennessy’s dreams are shattered when her longtime boyfriend dumps her to marry someone else. On the rebound, she lets a friend drag her to a party where she meets former teen idol Eric Boyd, the Scottish rocker she had a crush on years ago.

Eric has one goal: return to the industry as a legitimate musician and earn the respect of his peers. But his manager is missing, someone is murdering his former band mates, and he might be next on the killer’s list. The last thing he needs is a relationship.

Despite their growing chemistry, Darla is wary of getting involved too. But when the killer attacks Eric, she can’t turn her back. On the run, they have to stay one step ahead of a madman even as their attraction heats up. It may be love, but can they survive long enough to find out?

Rating: Spicy
Page Count: 286
Word Count: 72012
978-1-61217-979-7     Paperback
978-1-61217-980-3     Digital

Excerpt:

Darla could not lose control here. She needed to say something and leave. But the strange pattern on the fabric of her rescuer’s shirt grabbed her attention.

She tipped her head slightly and frowned. She stared harder, blinking several times. What th… A loud gasp escaped as she slapped a palm over her mouth. This night kept getting better. She lowered her hand and gaped at the pink tinge sprayed across the Raging Impulse lead guitarist’s chest.

“That’s not good.” He wiggled a finger over the scattered glass, apparently unperturbed she’d ruined his shirt. “What were you drinking? I’ll get you another.”

Darla stared, speechless. The inflections of his strong accent made him difficult to understand yet the mere sound of his voice caused her heart to almost stop. It was rich, deep, laced with enough of a rasp to carry a trace of seductiveness. The kind of voice that could convince a woman to do practically anything.

“What were you drinking?” he asked again. A long moment passed. Those disturbing cobalt eyes continued to study her. “Are you okay?”

Darla gulped. She was fine except her mind experienced a complete meltdown. Her heart beat in triple time, she couldn’t catch her breath, and she appeared to have lost the ability to speak.

“Wine,” she blurted. “White Zinfandel.” Surprised she’d almost found her wits, she paused and made an awkward gesture over the fresh stain on his shirt. “I don’t know what happened. Um, I got…you were there, it…” Her arm dropped, and she released a heavy sigh. “The glass slipped out of my hand.”

A slight curve formed across his lips as a wicked twinkle entered his eyes. “I noticed.”

About Debra Jupe

Hi, I’m Debra and I write romantic/suspense novels, with a bit of steam and a lot of fun. Creating stories is my passion. My favorite days are when I can tune out the universe, huddle over my laptop, and let my imagination go wild. More of my loves My kids-I am the proud mom of two. Son, Stephen and daughter, Hannah. I’m also a proud mother-in-law to Astrid and Ryan. I’m a huge animal lover and am “mom” to a houseful of adopted fur-babies. Animals know, when they show up at my house, they have a forever home. Texas-I’m a lifetime Texan. Born in Waco, I grew up in a small town, south of the city. In my early 20’s, I left and lived in different areas within the state. Twenty-eight years later, I happily returned home. I hope to have one more move in me. My dream is to live by the ocean, sit on the deck with a glass of wine and write. Bucket List accomplishments-In my 40’s, I did something I’d always wanted to do, which was return to school and further my education. I received my Bachelor’s Degree in 2011. My day job is working in the education system, teaching special needs children. Inspiration-Growing plants in my flower beds, painting, photography, travel (love the beach), I was born to shop-now if I just had the money, and I can be easily bribed with a tasty meal of Mexican food. Oh yeah, and chocolate. Lots of chocolate. Writing-I received my first publishing contract with The Wild Rose Press in 2013, and my initial release debuted in September the same year. I’m an active member of the Central Texas Romance Writers of America Chapter, and I serve as secretary of the group. Amazon.com, WildRosePublishing.com Follow me on twitter @AuthorDebraJupe Keep up with the latest updates by liking my Facebook page www.facebook.com/authordebrajupe DebraJupe@gmail.com or on my Facebook page Author Debra Jupe
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Can’t do this without my girls!

  1. Pingback: Can’t do this without my girls! | Author Debra Jupe

  2. Sue Ranscht says:

    Looks like a fun time — do you share your work at the end of the day? How far did each of you travel to get together? Good to know stuff like this is happening outside of commercially sponsored workshops.

  3. Debra Jupe says:

    We do enjoy our times together. These are great supportive women who I’m proud to call friends. Sometimes we share our work, and others we just write. Travel depends, this occasion we were at one of the writer’s, Susan JP Owens, home-she lives on a ranch-it was wonderful
    -total peace!

Leave a Reply

