“Always be yourself, express yourself, have faith in yourself, do not go out and look for a successful personality and duplicate it.”

I don’t advertise what my “real” job is, due to the nature of the work, but I will reveal my occupation involves children.

One little boy wears me out on a continual basis. Eli. Eli’s a sweetheart, although he doesn’t play well with others. His problem is an eagerness to fit in. Though he tries, his efforts are rarely successful. My heart when the other children tell him they don’t want him in their groups. The end results is alienation and then he becomes angry and lashes out,-which reverts into time out.

I understand Eli’s plight. For many years, I also strived to fit into a certain mold. I learn to fake it to some degree and did my best to conform. Bet every one of us probably experienced similar situations, but so many are like me, who tried to remain mainstream, and failed.

I’m not mainstream. And that’s okay.

I’m the lady who creates stories in her head. I make up tales out of a simple drive to the grocery store. I once found the situation strange, but now I think it’s kind of cool. I produce an entirely different universe without leaving my sofa. Talk about a good time.

The great life shake ups come from traveling in the wrong direction, and to get us on track to where we’re supposed to go. To resist only makes the change more difficult. Let’s be truthful, we’re only here for so long, living life in limbo is certainly a waste.

We all possess gifts which make us unique and individual. I used to shun what made me distinct for fear of standing out, being laughed at, or misunderstood. I’m fine if everyone doesn’t get me. My acceptance of myself created an amazing transformation and I’m riding a wonderful ride. I’ve made many new friendships, those I’ll cherish always. For the first time, I don’t feel out of step with the rest of the world, even if I am.

How about you? Do you fit in?

 

About Debra Jupe

Hi, I’m Debra and I write romantic/suspense novels, with a bit of steam and a lot of fun. Creating stories is my passion. My favorite days are when I can tune out the universe, huddle over my laptop, and let my imagination go wild. More of my loves My kids-I am the proud mom of two. Son, Stephen and daughter, Hannah. I’m also a proud mother-in-law to Astrid and Ryan. I’m a huge animal lover and am “mom” to a houseful of adopted fur-babies. Animals know, when they show up at my house, they have a forever home. Texas-I’m a lifetime Texan. Born in Waco, I grew up in a small town, south of the city. In my early 20’s, I left and lived in different areas within the state. Twenty-eight years later, I happily returned home. I hope to have one more move in me. My dream is to live by the ocean, sit on the deck with a glass of wine and write. Bucket List accomplishments-In my 40’s, I did something I’d always wanted to do, which was return to school and further my education. I received my Bachelor’s Degree in 2011. My day job is working in the education system, teaching special needs children. Inspiration-Growing plants in my flower beds, painting, photography, travel (love the beach), I was born to shop-now if I just had the money, and I can be easily bribed with a tasty meal of Mexican food. Oh yeah, and chocolate. Lots of chocolate. Writing-I received my first publishing contract with The Wild Rose Press in 2013, and my initial release debuted in September the same year. I’m an active member of the Central Texas Romance Writers of America Chapter, and I serve as secretary of the group. Amazon.com, WildRosePublishing.com Follow me on twitter @AuthorDebraJupe Keep up with the latest updates by liking my Facebook page www.facebook.com/authordebrajupe DebraJupe@gmail.com or on my Facebook page Author Debra Jupe
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Always be yourself, express yourself, have faith in yourself, do not go out and look for a successful personality and duplicate it.”

  1. SusanJPOwens says:

    You are absolutely right, being yourself will create positive energy within and around you. Therefore, you’re happier and so is everyone else! Eli will figure this out. It may take some time, but with you guiding him, he’ll be successful very soon!

    Like

  2. Debra Jupe says:

    Thanks, Susan. I totally agree. It’s a lot easier once you accept who you are. Eli will discover that too.

    Like

  3. Nese Lane says:

    I’ve always been able to squeak by hovering on the outside edges, but have raised an eyebrow or two in this strictly conservative, conform-or-else area of the country. I am so happy to have found my writing support group (of which you are a delightful part) where I am able to let my freak flag fly and will still be welcomed back with open arms. 🙂

    Like

    • Debra Jupe says:

      I agree, Nese. We were brought together for a reason, and the unconditional acceptance has made each of us better as people, but more so as writers. No fear.

      Like

Leave a Reply

