World Blog Tour

It’s an honor to have been invited to this World Blog Tour by Linda LaRoque. I met Linda at our local Heart of Texas RWA Chapter in 2009. She’s become a wonderful friend and most definitely a much-needed mentor for a newbie like me. Linda is a multi-published author who writes an array of genres; Time-Travel, Western, Historical Westerns, and she just completed her first Women’s Inspirational Fiction. Visit Linda at her blog at http://www.lindalaroqueauthor.blogspot.com
This blog tour answers four questions:

1. What am I working on?
I’m working on a romance/suspense novella, which is a part of a boxed set with a group of authors. This is my first “short”. I’m a little apprehensive about my pacing, but I’m enjoying the experience and hope to do other shorts later on. I’m also writing The Lobster Cover series my publisher, The Wild Rose Press is sponsoring. I’m not sure how long this book will be, I suppose I’ll know when I’m done. This is another a romance/suspense. And finally, I’m writing my forth full length romance/suspense novel; Hanging on an Instant. My hope is to have the three completed by the end of 2014. Then onto something new!

2. How does my work differ from others in the genre?
Hmmm. I try to make my characters normal people. I like to put them into situations a regular person wouldn’t usually encounter and let them find their way out—all with the main characters falling in love during the process. I also prefer my heroine just as kick-ass as the hero, or feisty enough to take care of herself through any death-defying circumstance that pops up. I’d rather the hero an average guy and for him turn into Superman when his lady is in trouble. I also want both flawed. In my opinion, that makes them more interesting to read.

3. Why do I write what I do?
To me, it’s all about the romance because I’m a romantic at heart. I want everyone to get a happily ever after. The suspense adds a little extra to the plot, and I like piecing together the puzzle to make the story gripping. It’s a great compliment when someone tells me they didn’t figure the “who done it” out till the end, though it doesn’t bother me if a reader catches on early. In the end, they get to be right!

4. How does my writing process work?
I’m a procrastinator with a plan. I do not outline or use any types of plotting methods. Sometimes an idea will stem from an experience, but most of the time stuff just pops in my head. Several of my stories have swum around years before I realized I needed to write them. Once I get started, then I let the characters guide me, and they tell the story. I see myself as a vessel that makes the characters and their story come alive.

Check out my current release Echoes in the Wind is available at The Wild Rose Press, Amazon.com, Barnes and Nobel and other online book stores. My newest book, Tomorrow Doesn’t Matter Tonight is waiting a release date.

I’ve selected two authors to tag. Both are amazing writers, and I’m fortunate to call them my friends too. I’m pleased to have Lorelei Buckley and Susan JP Owens join the World Blog Tour.

I met Lorelei at our local Heart of Texas RWA chapter three years ago. She was already established when she joined, penning several short stories and a paranormal suspense. Since, she’s published another paranormal suspense, Direct Strike and also participated in the Short and Twisted series with a group of authors. She is currently working on Channel Three, a paranormal

I also know Susan through our local Heart of Texas RWA chapter. She is a paranormal suspense writer too. Expect to find some steamy scenes in her books. Her current release, Walking into Her Heart now available in e-book and print. She has a short story due to release later in the year. Currently she is working on a full length manuscript, which will publish in the near future. She is also writing a short story and expects to have it completed by the end of August. Find her at www.susanjpowens.com

I’m going to let them tell you more. Check out Lorelei and Susan’s blogs.

Thanks for stopping by.
Debra

 

 

About Debra Jupe

Hi, I’m Debra and I write romantic/suspense novels, with a bit of steam and a lot of fun. Creating stories is my passion. My favorite days are when I can tune out the universe, huddle over my laptop, and let my imagination go wild. More of my loves My kids-I am the proud mom of two. Son, Stephen and daughter, Hannah. I’m also a proud mother-in-law to Astrid and Ryan. I’m a huge animal lover and am “mom” to a houseful of adopted fur-babies. Animals know, when they show up at my house, they have a forever home. Texas-I’m a lifetime Texan. Born in Waco, I grew up in a small town, south of the city. In my early 20’s, I left and lived in different areas within the state. Twenty-eight years later, I happily returned home. I hope to have one more move in me. My dream is to live by the ocean, sit on the deck with a glass of wine and write. Bucket List accomplishments-In my 40’s, I did something I’d always wanted to do, which was return to school and further my education. I received my Bachelor’s Degree in 2011. My day job is working in the education system, teaching special needs children. Inspiration-Growing plants in my flower beds, painting, photography, travel (love the beach), I was born to shop-now if I just had the money, and I can be easily bribed with a tasty meal of Mexican food. Oh yeah, and chocolate. Lots of chocolate. Writing-I received my first publishing contract with The Wild Rose Press in 2013, and my initial release debuted in September the same year. I’m an active member of the Central Texas Romance Writers of America Chapter, and I serve as secretary of the group. Amazon.com, WildRosePublishing.com Follow me on twitter @AuthorDebraJupe Keep up with the latest updates by liking my Facebook page www.facebook.com/authordebrajupe DebraJupe@gmail.com or on my Facebook page Author Debra Jupe
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

