New Stuff

 

mqdefault

I began to write stories at age twelve. I had no clue I aspired to be a writer, nor do I remember wanting to. Nope, I intended dance. I loved dancing. Growing up, I took ballet, tap, and jazz classes. I enjoyed jazz the most. Jazz had a showmanship appeal. We group of girls rehearsing or on stage, performing the same movements or sequences gave me the impression of what the real deal felt like, and I desired to dance on Broadway.

Unfortunately, the dream never formulated into a reality. I’ll never know if I was good enough to go further than the small dance studio in Waco, Texas because I didn’t voice my dreams to anyone. Therefore, I didn’t try. I was too scared.

And I stayed afraid for a long time. Well past adulthood.

My fright didn’t stem from a longing to write romance novels or anything else. No, my fear was stifling. My apprehension grew from sense of futility. I didn’t believe I was good at anything. Lack of confidence fueled my uncertainties.

When I discovered my love for penning words, my entire world changed. It didn’t happen overnight, but doubts and negativity were replaced with poise, determination, and most importantly faith. I finally believed in me.

Regrettably, this newfound courage occurred when I reached middle-age, but hey, if there’s anything positive to be said about aging–we mid-lifers are no longer afraid to shed the skin of uncertainty and seek out our dreams. Even failure is better than not giving it a shot.

My new-found bravery has stimulated me to try other things I secretly yearned to do. I love photography, and enjoy taking photographs. Nowadays, when the urge hits me, I grab my camera and go shoot pictures. Anyone sees a crazy lady parked on the roadside taking pictures of a cow. Yep, that’s me. You can laugh. I do.

Forever, I wished I could paint on canvas. I’m currently making my first attempt. A reveal may come at a later time, if it’s any good! Or not, oh well. I’m having a blast creating my latest masterpiece. I’ve already picked the spot for display—my bathroom wall. The room has the best lighting.

Do I still dance? (Giggles) Not too much. I take a yoga class, and movements are done to music. Feels great, but dancing? I don’t think so. For my day job, I work in an elementary school with special needs children. I accompany one of my students to PE. On Fridays, the coaches play the Wee with music and aerobic type videos for the kids to follow. I get to show off my polished steps to the sounds of Disney. That’s about it.

Although I will admit when I watch dancers perform kick-ass moves, the hunger to join in still remains. At least mentally. If only the body could keep up.

732_737519642938953_2077745357_nAs an adult, I danced vicariously through my daughter. This is a photo taken at her wedding. These five lovely ladies danced together for ten years.

 

 

 

 

 

                                                  http://www.wildrosepublishing.com/

IMG_0832

About Debra Jupe

Hi, I’m Debra and I write romantic/suspense novels, with a bit of steam and a lot of fun. Creating stories is my passion. My favorite days are when I can tune out the universe, huddle over my laptop, and let my imagination go wild. More of my loves My kids-I am the proud mom of two. Son, Stephen and daughter, Hannah. I’m also a proud mother-in-law to Astrid and Ryan. I’m a huge animal lover and am “mom” to a houseful of adopted fur-babies. Animals know, when they show up at my house, they have a forever home. Texas-I’m a lifetime Texan. Born in Waco, I grew up in a small town, south of the city. In my early 20’s, I left and lived in different areas within the state. Twenty-eight years later, I happily returned home. I hope to have one more move in me. My dream is to live by the ocean, sit on the deck with a glass of wine and write. Bucket List accomplishments-In my 40’s, I did something I’d always wanted to do, which was return to school and further my education. I received my Bachelor’s Degree in 2011. My day job is working in the education system, teaching special needs children. Inspiration-Growing plants in my flower beds, painting, photography, travel (love the beach), I was born to shop-now if I just had the money, and I can be easily bribed with a tasty meal of Mexican food. Oh yeah, and chocolate. Lots of chocolate. Writing-I received my first publishing contract with The Wild Rose Press in 2013, and my initial release debuted in September the same year. I’m an active member of the Central Texas Romance Writers of America Chapter, and I serve as secretary of the group. Amazon.com, WildRosePublishing.com Follow me on twitter @AuthorDebraJupe Keep up with the latest updates by liking my Facebook page www.facebook.com/authordebrajupe DebraJupe@gmail.com or on my Facebook page Author Debra Jupe
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Stuff

  1. brnjen12 says:

    Love this post, Debra! It’s never too late to follow your dreams! It’s risky, sure, but life is risk. Thanks so much for sharing!

    Your fellow Rose,
    Jeannie Hall

    Like

  2. brnjen12 says:

    Reblogged this on Jeannie Hall Suspense and commented:
    Should You Risk Following Your Dreams? YES!

    Like

Leave a Reply

