Keeping Resolutions

1483026303_happy-new-year

I’m a bit late on my New Year blog, but then again, posting it on the last weekend of the month almost seems fitting. I’ve always seen the beginning of a new year as a time to make a new start with New Year’s resolutions in place, the common ones, eat better, exercise more, be better at this or that, be the ball, Danny — no wait…

I’d begin all gun-ho to keep myself on the straight and narrow. Unfortunately, my vows would quickly dissolve  and were forgotten near the end of January. I’d file them away, and when the next year rolled around, I’d start over again.

08eab169ff6b6196da28a9a5bdffa862

Didn’t Einstein say something about doing the same thing and expecting the same results? Yeah…insane.

Eventually, I stopped making resolutions. Since I didn’t keep them, I didn’t see a point. Instead, I made goals. Some attainable, others not so much, and few were accomplished. I read once if you write down an idea, then it became a goal or if you told someone your goal, they could hold you accountable. Well, I beg to differ. It only works if a person is motivated to achieve whatever it is they’re driven to succeed.

goals-quote-1

Last year, I was somewhat laxed on my writing, enough to become frustrated with myself by the end of the year. I didn’t publish a book in 2016, despite having two manuscripts completed, and a third almost done. Life, computer issues, and other roadblocks kept bugging me and getting in my way. I’ve also struggled with keeping up with the promotional side of the industry. Two author friends and I did YouTube videos. They were a blast, but filming was extremely time consuming and took away from our writing time, sooo I slept through a lot of 2016.

 

Without realizing my intentions, I sat down near the end of the year and made a list of things I hoped to complete in 2017. It’s quite extensive and it covers just about every aspect of my life. Anyone who knows me, understands that this is totally out of character. Ask my family, they’ll vouch that I’m the flighty one when it comes to focusing and organization.

img_0248

I received an email from a fellow RWA member, holding a virtual whip. She wanted to know our writing goals for 2017. I had one ready and sent it back to her. Usually, she has to pry a list from me, I think I impressed her by being prepared. I hope she doesn’t get used to it.

whip

How have I done so far? Not too shabby for month one. I completed editing the manuscript, Afraid to Breathe. I plan to send it to my editor this weekend. I’m about finished with the Echoes in the Wind sequel, Echoes in the Storm. My target time to submit it is in March. As soon as I’m done, I’ll do some rewrites on A Lethal Affair and step into the self-publishing world. I’ve started the second of the three-part Afraid series, Afraid to Know is next. I also have thoughts on  how the third sequel will begin in the Echoes final installment, Echoes in the Heat. I planned to write an older children’s series, and the romance/suspense story I started years ago, Hanging on an Instant, is finally becoming clearer. I’m putting together marketing plans and hopefully will get my name out as an author. And my personal life? Yep, I’ve done some revamping there too, even made a few strides, but that’s for another blog.

friends_1705882i

Will I continue full-force, tying like a madwoman to get my life in an orderly fashion or will I return to my usual chaotic mess? Who knows?

How about you? How are your resolutions going?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Debra Jupe

Hi, I’m Debra and I write romantic/suspense novels, with a bit of steam and a lot of fun. Creating stories is my passion. My favorite days are when I can tune out the universe, huddle over my laptop, and let my imagination go wild. More of my loves My kids-I am the proud mom of two. Son, Stephen and daughter, Hannah. I’m also a proud mother-in-law to Astrid and Ryan. I’m a huge animal lover and am “mom” to a houseful of adopted fur-babies. Animals know, when they show up at my house, they have a forever home. Texas-I’m a lifetime Texan. Born in Waco, I grew up in a small town, south of the city. In my early 20’s, I left and lived in different areas within the state. Twenty-eight years later, I happily returned home. I hope to have one more move in me. My dream is to live by the ocean, sit on the deck with a glass of wine and write. Bucket List accomplishments-In my 40’s, I did something I’d always wanted to do, which was return to school and further my education. I received my Bachelor’s Degree in 2011. My day job is working in the education system, teaching special needs children. Inspiration-Growing plants in my flower beds, painting, photography, travel (love the beach), I was born to shop-now if I just had the money, and I can be easily bribed with a tasty meal of Mexican food. Oh yeah, and chocolate. Lots of chocolate. Writing-I received my first publishing contract with The Wild Rose Press in 2013, and my initial release debuted in September the same year. I’m an active member of the Central Texas Romance Writers of America Chapter, and I serve as secretary of the group. Amazon.com, WildRosePublishing.com Follow me on twitter @AuthorDebraJupe Keep up with the latest updates by liking my Facebook page www.facebook.com/authordebrajupe DebraJupe@gmail.com or on my Facebook page Author Debra Jupe
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

