The Last Day

Who remembers the last day of school? Yeah, I don’t recall much either. I began reflecting the other day, because that’s what we authors do, reflect, during dismissal at the school where I’m employed. I searched the outgoing faces, mainly the fifth graders to see if it had hit them, yet. That moment that smacks square in the heart.

IMG_2994

This is it. I won’t be coming back here.

My finale at Robinson High School occurred, strolling across the football field, (which is no longer used, by the way), happened in late May, back in 1976. Forty-one years ago, if you’re not inclined to do the math.

My graduating class was small compared to today’s standards. Everyone knew everyone. We were considered a good group of kids, and in spite of the normal secluded social circles and cliques, we were a fairly close knit bunch. IMG_3010

I wasn’t considered a good student. Most of the classes bored me, and I found myself daydreaming instead of paying attention, and my grades showed my lack of interest.

IMG_3009 (2)

Nor I did I participate in a lot of activities. I did join band in the sixth grade and stayed throughout my time at RHS. Yep, I was a band nerd. I also made the color guard team, and those two organizations took up a bulk of my spare time.

As far as popularity went, I wasn’t considered a part of the “in” crowd, although I don’t think I was unpopular, either. I had friends, many good ones, and yes, I even went out on a few dates.

Most of my personal occurrences were due to my choices, even if didn’t realize I made the decisions, and my lack of involvement had little impact on my life after I left school. Overall, my time in the classroom/hallways left a positive mark in the memory bank, and even if I don’t remember that final day, I do have many fond memories, especially with great friends. These were kids I grew up with. I unrealistically assumed these people would always be a part of my life.

IMG_3007

Only they weren’t. Once I moved from the area, I lost touch with most. I’m fortunate to have kept a handful for the last four plus one decades.

Social media, opened up a new way to reconnect, and I’ve resumed many alliances through FB and other venues. We’ve also held reunions and those were wonderful. We caught up, but after the few hours were over, and the buzz of excitement wore off, we went back to our busy lives. As one former classmate and I discussed after a reunion, we just don’t have much in common anymore.

2017-06-04 (2).png

But that’s okay. We grew up, like we were supposed to. We moved on. Sadly, quite a few have passed on, and we are left holding onto what was dear, and the rest we let go.

I hope those who are going forward and into a new life, will take the time to contemplate and remember. Because some day they’ll understand. They won’t be passing this way again.

IMG_2968

IMG_2988

IMG_2993

Robinson High School

The Class of 1976
IMG_3003  My friends, I will remember you, think of you, pray for you.
And when another day is through, I’ll still be friends with you.

About Debra Jupe

Hi, I’m Debra and I write romantic/suspense novels, with a bit of steam and a lot of fun. Creating stories is my passion. My favorite days are when I can tune out the universe, huddle over my laptop, and let my imagination go wild. More of my loves My kids-I am the proud mom of two. Son, Stephen and daughter, Hannah. I’m also a proud mother-in-law to Astrid and Ryan. I’m a huge animal lover and am “mom” to a houseful of adopted fur-babies. Animals know, when they show up at my house, they have a forever home. Texas-I’m a lifetime Texan. Born in Waco, I grew up in a small town, south of the city. In my early 20’s, I left and lived in different areas within the state. Twenty-eight years later, I happily returned home. I hope to have one more move in me. My dream is to live by the ocean, sit on the deck with a glass of wine and write. Bucket List accomplishments-In my 40’s, I did something I’d always wanted to do, which was return to school and further my education. I received my Bachelor’s Degree in 2011. My day job is working in the education system, teaching special needs children. Inspiration-Growing plants in my flower beds, painting, photography, travel (love the beach), I was born to shop-now if I just had the money, and I can be easily bribed with a tasty meal of Mexican food. Oh yeah, and chocolate. Lots of chocolate. Writing-I received my first publishing contract with The Wild Rose Press in 2013, and my initial release debuted in September the same year. I’m an active member of the Central Texas Romance Writers of America Chapter, and I serve as secretary of the group. Amazon.com, WildRosePublishing.com Follow me on twitter @AuthorDebraJupe Keep up with the latest updates by liking my Facebook page www.facebook.com/authordebrajupe DebraJupe@gmail.com or on my Facebook page Author Debra Jupe
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Last Day

  1. Loved this, friend. Those are pictures I’d forgotten about and it was good to see them. Memories, mostly good ones, but some not, came flooding back. We didn’t realize what was ending on that last day at RHS nor how our lives would change and where our lives would take us. Me out of state and away from the classmates I spent 4 years with. I’m thankful to have kept in touch with you and to have gotten to know each other as the women we have become. Lots of life experience and still so much to share. Love you very much, Lori

    Like

    • Debra Jupe says:

      We had some wonderful times, in and out of school. I cherish every memory and look forward to making more in the future. . I’m grateful for your many years of steadfast friendship and support, and I love you, right back. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

