Are You a Friend of Social Media?

Ever wonder what we did with our spare time before social media entered our lives? For many, scrolling social media outlets is an essential part of the day. Home and work computers or our phones allow us to check sites anytime, anywhere.

2017-07-09 (3).png

Why has this growing, sensation become such an important aspect of the public’s lives? According to Science in our World, social networking is an instrument of communication. So, basically, it’s a way that we can talk to or keep up with each other through the web.

While there are tons of choices, and I’m on several, I tend to gravitate toward Facebook, like others in my age bracket. Again, what’s the draw? For me, it’s a connection.

2017-07-09 (5)

I’ve been very fortunate to have kept in touch with three or four friends since we were in grade school, and I graduated high school over forty years ago. Pretty cool, right?

2017-07-09 (2).png

But since the birth of social media, i.e. Facebook, I probably have reunited with over 500 high school friends, which is wonderful. I find out what’s happened in their lives. Many times, we PM to discover common ups and downs that’s occurred over these past 40+ years. Occasionally, an in-person meeting ensues, or at least I know their face when I see them at high school reunions and I hope, vica versa.

2017-07-09 (9).png

I’ve also managed to keep in touch former and current coworkers. Since there’s little time for true social interactions with my fellow employees, it’s nice to view their families, interests, and activities outside the workplace. As for former coworkers, you know the ones you promised to stay in contact with after one of you leaves, but you don’t…now I can and I do.

This is also true of my author friends. We’re introverts who would rather be home in front of our laptop instead of socializing, (although when we do meet, we gab about writing, which is always a rush). FB allows me to know about their current releases, learn about their latest projects, and I can support, like, and share.

12189405_10205198838438749_7447183525933446683_o

One of the coolest social media features is meeting new friends, folks I’ve never met. I’m privileged to have friends from all over the world. Some live in places I’ve dreamt of visiting and others reside in places I’ve never heard of. Either way, discovering foreign lands, customs, and celebrating our differences has been an enlightening and fun experience.

2017-07-09 (13).png

And finally, social media has helped me reconnect with my family. Strange? I’m speaking beyond my children and mom, because I’m going to bug my kids whether they like it or not, and my mom’s going to bug me whether I like it or not.

IMG_0254.jpg

I’m talking about my cousins, uncles, my cousin’s children, etc. Our linking on FB has made us closer. My extended family gets together on special occasions, something that we’d discontinued after older family members died.

IMG_2877 (1).JPG

And it’s not only for holidays. We’ve gotten to know each other as adults. We’ve found we have many things in common, and we genuinely like one another and we enjoy spending time together.

IMG_2863.JPG

I also have a few friends from my father’s side of the family, a line I’d lost touch with after he passed away. That’s also been a nice perk.

2017-07-09 (15).png

Everyone has an opinion concerning social media. What are your thoughts? Time suck or time well used? Leave me a comment and tell me your viewpoints.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Within twenty-four hours, Katie Drapier has lost her job, become a murder suspect in her former boss’s death, and run into her school girl crush, Jack Pharrell, who stomped on her heart fourteen years ago.

Jackson Pharrell is down on his luck. Nothing seems to be going his way. Things go from bad to worse when he discovers a dead body, who turns out to be the former boss of an old friend’s pesky sister. Plagued with guilt from the past, Jack feels obliged to help her find the murderer while ducking a murder charge, even if it means breaking the law. Together, they dodge police, the real killer, and the growing heat between them. The plan is to rise above their woes and get on with their lives. Falling in love is not an option.

Debra Jupe reads and writes romance suspense-thrillers that are sizzling, dark, and fun. Her favorite authors are Sandra Brown, Linda Howard, and Lisa Jackson, and she aspires to join them on the best selling ranks some day. You can find her books at http://wwwthewildrosepress.com and http://www.amazon.com

 

About Debra Jupe

Hi, I’m Debra and I write romantic/suspense novels, with a bit of steam and a lot of fun. Creating stories is my passion. My favorite days are when I can tune out the universe, huddle over my laptop, and let my imagination go wild. More of my loves My kids-I am the proud mom of two. Son, Stephen and daughter, Hannah. I’m also a proud mother-in-law to Astrid and Ryan. I’m a huge animal lover and am “mom” to a houseful of adopted fur-babies. Animals know, when they show up at my house, they have a forever home. Texas-I’m a lifetime Texan. Born in Waco, I grew up in a small town, south of the city. In my early 20’s, I left and lived in different areas within the state. Twenty-eight years later, I happily returned home. I hope to have one more move in me. My dream is to live by the ocean, sit on the deck with a glass of wine and write. Bucket List accomplishments-In my 40’s, I did something I’d always wanted to do, which was return to school and further my education. I received my Bachelor’s Degree in 2011. My day job is working in the education system, teaching special needs children. Inspiration-Growing plants in my flower beds, painting, photography, travel (love the beach), I was born to shop-now if I just had the money, and I can be easily bribed with a tasty meal of Mexican food. Oh yeah, and chocolate. Lots of chocolate. Writing-I received my first publishing contract with The Wild Rose Press in 2013, and my initial release debuted in September the same year. I’m an active member of the Central Texas Romance Writers of America Chapter, and I serve as secretary of the group. Amazon.com, WildRosePublishing.com Follow me on twitter @AuthorDebraJupe Keep up with the latest updates by liking my Facebook page www.facebook.com/authordebrajupe DebraJupe@gmail.com or on my Facebook page Author Debra Jupe
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are You a Friend of Social Media?

  1. Great post, Debra! Facebook has its pros and cons. At times, it can be noisy and negative. I’ve learned to quickly scroll through facebook each day. I, too, have re-connected with old school friends and happy to do so, but for the most part, I still consider facebook to be a time “suck,” unless you set a timer. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

